Senior Leadership

Our founder Joseph Wharton had a vision for a business school focusing on rigorous analysis, actionable knowledge, and responsible leadership. Our senior leadership continues that vision to advance Wharton as the foremost research-led business school in the world.

Wharton’s Dean

Erika H. James, 2020-Present

Erika H. James became the dean of the Wharton School on July 1, 2020. Trained as an organizational psychologist, Dean James is a leading expert on crisis leadership, workplace diversity, and management strategy.

Prior to her appointment at Wharton, Dean James was the John H. Harland Dean at Emory University’s Goizueta Business School from 2014 to 2020. An award-winning educator, accomplished consultant, and innovative researcher, she has paved the way for women in leadership both in education and corporate America. Dean James has been instrumental in developing groundbreaking executive education programs, including the Women’s Leadership program at the University of Virginia’s Darden School.

Read the Dean’s Bio

Executive Boards

Members of Wharton’s Executive Boards help define and implement the School’s strategic mission and goals.

Led by Chair of the Board of Advisors Marc Rowan, W’84, WG’85, Wharton’s executive boards form an interconnected network of deeply engaged international leaders. Through their service, counsel, generosity, and outreach, board members keep Wharton ahead of the curve in business education, innovation, and global reach. Eight distinct boards with particular areas of focus span the entirety of the Wharton experience and community – including various international regions; student and alumni constituencies; and the School’s undergraduate, graduate, and Executive Education programs.

The longstanding commitment and continued energy and efforts of board members is especially integral at this challenging and exciting time for Wharton. Through their collective support, they empower achieving ambitious fundraising and engagement goals and expanding Wharton’s scope and impact.

Marc Rowan
Chair, Wharton Board of Advisors

Senior Academic and Administrative Officers

Nancy Rothbard

Deputy Dean
The Wharton School

Dan Alig

Chief Information Officer
Wharton Computing and Information Technology

Bill Bole

Chief Advancement Officer
Wharton External Affairs

Angela Bostick

Chief Marketing and Communications Officer

Eric Bradlow

Vice Dean
AI & Analytics

Brian Bushee

Senior Vice Dean
Teaching and Learning

João F. Gomes

Senior Vice Dean
Research, Centers, and Academic Initiatives

Mauro Guillén

Vice Dean
MBA Program for Executives

Witold (Vit) Henisz

Vice Dean and Faculty Director
ESG Initiative

Renita Miller

Chief Diversity, Equity,
and Inclusion Officer

Serguei Netessine

Senior Vice Dean
Innovation and Global Initiatives

Colleen O’Neill

Chief Operating and Financial Officer

Maryellen Reilly

Vice Dean
Graduate Student Affairs

Diana Robertson

Vice Dean
Undergraduate Division

Lori Rosenkopf

Vice Dean

Kenneth L. Shropshire

Senior Advisor to the Dean for the Coalition for Equity & Opportunity

Nicolaj Siggelkow

Vice Dean
MBA Program

Patti Williams

Vice Dean
Executive Education

Nancy Zhang

Vice Dean
Doctoral Programs